I’m Not Sure How I Feel About This

Last week, I wrote about Tim Hortons coffee, and my opinion that better java can be had from a certain brand of single-cup brewing machine.  Today, I found a comment attached to that post.  To save you the clickage, here is a screenshot of the missive:

I should explain that K-Cups are the single-serving coffee packs that are put into the brewing machine to make a cup of coffee.  They cost about 75 cents each.

This is pretty smart marketing, and pretty dumb, too.  What has obviously happened here is that the company that the “Weekly K-Cups Giveaways” link sends us to (AROMACUP) has someone (or some automated process) combing the Web looking for the word “Keurig.”  Whenever they find it, they take the opportunity to plug their little K-Cup supply company.  The hook is a good one, too – register for a chance to win free K-Cups.  Then they’ll have your email address and possibly your leave to send relevant marketing material that you will welcome.  It’s a classic permission marketing opt-in.  So kudoes to them for that.

HOWEVER, I have a couple of problems with this particular execution.  Number one, and I’ve ranted about this before:  could you take the time to do a frickin’ grammar check?!?!  Presumably, there is some person sitting in Belarus scouring the internet and posting these comments, so I understand if they’re not fluent English-speakers.  (For that matter, neither are the folks who do their Web content – even though the company is ostensibly based in New Mexico, the English on the site is awful.  Perhaps the fact that the company founder is named “Igor Dernov” gives a hint.)  But the comment text that is presumably being cut-and-pasted on blogs all over the Web could at least be proofed by an anglophone.

Secondly, when you click on the link, it’s difficult to figure out how to enter the contest.  Could be a language issue, as mentioned above, but I think it’s shadier than that.  It turns out that you are supposed to leave a comment in their blog.  Weird, and somehow a little creepy.  My sense of admiration for a supplier that is actively seeking out perfectly targeted potential customers (like me), turns to contempt and distrust when I go to their site.  So the concept is great, but the implementation is lacking.

It will be interesting to see if this  post (which again contains the word “Keurig”) attracts another comment from Coffee PHD

2 Responses to “I’m Not Sure How I Feel About This”

  1. coffeePHD Says:

    Thanks Stephen!
    In general this article very critical. But I like it as a good very well done review. Also I have to admit that you have very good analysis skills. Again you first who give me a good and useful review.

    I just want to clarify few things for you and readers:

    “This is pretty smart marketing, and pretty dumb, too.”

    Totally agree. But it works and very well. Traffic doubled for past two months. Reason? You talking directly with the Keurig customers. It actually work with you too because you went to Aromacup.com as well. It’s time consuming but very effective.

    “The hook is a good one, too – register for a chance to win free K-Cups. Then they’ll have your email address and possibly your leave to send relevant marketing material that you will welcome. It’s a classic permission marketing opt-in. So kudoes to them for that.”

    Stephen every Giveaway have rules. Idea is very simple. Instead of paying Google, Yahoo and etc for PPC I decide use this money te reward our members with the Giveaways. So we have traffic, members will receive Giveaways, Sponsors have new customers. Sponsor set rules for Giveaways thought. If you read it, you’ll see mostly time it is very simple – post comments only :). And so far it was very successful marketing.

    “could you take the time to do a frickin’ grammar check?!?!”

    Agree. I can. But because of lack of time sometime I’ll skip that.

    “English on the site is awful.”

    Agree, but I’ll hire Editor for that. I was thinking about it for long time, but lack of time again :).

    “Secondly, when you click on the link, it’s difficult to figure out how to enter the contest.”

    I thought it’s very easy. Please let me know what exactly can be simplified.

    Thanks again.
    Igor Del Norte

    P.S. I also found that content of this website very useful for marketer. Really enjoyed wherethehellismatt.com 🙂

  2. Firestorm of Controversy Ignited! « About Bars & Marketing - by Stephen Brooks Says:

    […] of the Keurig coffee machine refill vendor and me. Igor Del Norte (AKA CoffeePHD) left a long comment on the post where I described his very Webby marketing technique. His method is to search the […]


Leave a Reply

