Whales Will Be Watched this Weekend

This weekend, we are going to beautiful St. Andrews-by-the-Sea, NB, to go whale watching.  We will be sailing out into the Passamaquoddy Bay (part of the Bay of Fundy) on the Jolly Breeze, a 72′ gaff and square rigged cutter.  We will be staying at the only accomodation in town that has an indoor swimming pool (for my daughter’s pleasure), the St. Andrews Motor Inn.

I had a wide range of choices to select from, all the results of a series of quick Googles.  I probably shortlisted 4 or 5 whale watching outfits and 6 or 7 B&Bs and other accommodation options out of the dozens of (relevant) hits I got.

But the thing is, there are dozens more of both kinds of operation that were completely invisible to me because they didn’t show up in the first two pages of the Google searches.  It’s as if they don’t exist. 

If you bothered to click on the links to either of the businesses, you’ll note that their sites are no great shakes.  But they were sufficient to get on my radar, and that’s why they’ll be getting our business.

ASIDE #1:  The large structure up on the hill on the Motor Inn’s main page is the Algonquin Hotel, where I worked as a lifeguard in the mid 80s.  We’re not staying there because their “pool” is a beach on a private cove, and probably a tad nippy right now.  They also have a regular outdoor pool, but not heated.

ASIDE #2:  Because of this trip, there will be no post here tomorrow.  And none on Monday, either, because it’s Canadian Thanksgiving.  Happy Turkey!

6 Responses to “Whales Will Be Watched this Weekend”

  1. netdud Says:

    Hope you have a whale of a time.

    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!

    I hate myself.

  2. Stephen Brooks Says:

    I’ll sea that pun, and raise you a fin.

  3. CM Says:

    I thought they shut down the whale watching tours in September each year. Show’s what I know.

    We’ve done the Mustang (Rubber speedboat) tour and the fishing boat tour there, but not the sail boat tour.

    Dress WARM, It’s a cold trip even in July.

    [img]http://www.flickr.com/photos/cmorrissey/615234642/in/set-72157602443260491/[/img]

  4. Stephen Brooks Says:

    Nice photos (again). And I discovered from your flickr labels that I had misspelled “Passamaquoddy” – I had two m’s. Thanks.

  5. CM Says:

    I can barely spell my name. It’s all cut and paste for me; I got lucky with Passamaquoddy

  6. When I worked at the Algonquin Hotel… « About Bars & Marketing - by Stephen Brooks Says:

    […] when we were in St Andrews last month whale watching, we went to the Brass Bull, which is now called The Gables, and the dance floor is now a […]


Leave a Reply

