Word Count

A thought occurred to me just now, that if I had actually stayed true to a single topic or theme in the 6 months I’ve been writing this blog, I could have written a book by now!  The definitive guide to marketing bars and other hospitality establishments.  Maybe it would even be used as a textbook or at least mandatory reading in hotel and hospitality management schools!  I would be the Warren Buffet of bar management!

Except, NOT.

I have about 140 posts so far, and an unscientific measurement puts them at an average of 250 words each, so that’s 35,000 words. Only enough for a novella, according to this authority.

Holy moley!  How to “real” authors do it?  I can’t imagine keeping my mind on one train of thought for 100,000 words (the average length of a novel).  Mad props to all of you out there who can write, because I love to read, but I could never write like you.

31

2 Responses to “Word Count”

  1. Sue Massey Says:

    Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  2. Derek K. Miller Says:

    I’m up to 3,260 posts on my site since October 2000. I haven’t tried averaging words-per-post, but if I take 250 as you did, I’m up to 815,000 words. That’s coming up to, but not quite, the length of War and Peace and Les Misérables combined.

    Yikes.


Leave a Reply

