What’s Your Secret

Seth had a post a few days ago about the Catch 22 of sharing your favorite things with other people.  It could be your favourite store, Web site, hairdresser, nightclub, physician, mechanic, restaurant, whatever.  If you tell your friends about it, it could become too popular and you could get squeezed out, or have your experience downgraded by overcrowding, or have the price of the thing go up.  All bad.  But if no-one promotes it, it could cease to exist – go out of business, move to a different market, or change to attract more business.  Also bad.

Seth concludes with:

It’s simple, I think. In a world where consumers have so much power, we now have two responsibilities:

  • If you don’t like what an organization stands for, work actively to spread the word and force them to change

and

  • If you will miss a product, a service, a book, a site or a professional when they close up shop, stand up, speak up and bring them masses of new business.

We get what we promote.

Remember that when you design your own company’s promotion tactics.  Make it easy for people to spread the word about you if they like you.  If you own a bar, try giving free drink coupons to your best (happiest) customers.  But write their names on them, and they’re not allowed to use them for themselves.  And they only become valid the day after they’re issued, and expire a week after that.  So your customer will give it to someone else, who will come in themselves; or the customer will have to bring a buddy when he comes back.

52

5 Responses to “What’s Your Secret”

  1. Clayton Says:

    My secret is that I’m afraid that I just don’t get all the fuss over Seth Godin at all.

  2. Kevin Says:

    Maybe you and Clayton should do an alternative MBA internship with Seth: sounds cool to me..

    http://www.squidoo.com/Alternative-MBA

  3. Stephen Brooks Says:

    But it’s unpaid. I’d have a hard time getting Cindy to agree to that…

  4. Clayton Says:

    Ha! No thanks. I find the Marketing OF Seth Godin is far more interesting than Marketing BY Seth Godin.

    My problem with Mr. Godin isn’t that I disagree with any of his ideas. Quite the opposite; I find it’s just common sense that should be second nature by now to anyone who’s ever sold a pen or offered to Supersize your Happy Meal.

    “If you don’t like what an organization stands for, work actively to spread the word and force them to change and If you will miss a product, a service, a book, a site or a professional when they close up shop, stand up, speak up and bring them masses of new business.”

    Really? You don’t say? Ground Breaking! Next he’ll be telling us to “buy low and sell high”.

    I’m afraid I don’t need a deified Marketing Guru to tell me to breath in, then breath out. (Regardless of how uncool it makes me with the kids who are reading their copies of “All Marketers are Liars” while their customers are on hold).

    * Oops, I said a while ago I’d stop posting rants as comments. Ah, what the hell, “The Emperor Has No Clothes!” 😉

  5. Stephen Brooks Says:

    Clayton echoes my very first post:
    “Seth Godin, for those of you who don’t know already, is considered by many to be the pre-eminent thinker/writer/speaker/blogger about marketing in the 21st century. I don’t know if I’d go that far, but he certainly is smart, and he certainly has marketed himself effectively.
    https://barmarbybroox.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/seth-made-me-do-it/


Leave a Reply

